Latest News Highlights


Tuesday, 3rd July 2018
The 42nd session of the World Heritage Committee was held in Manama from 24th June to 4th July 2018 at the UNESCO Village within Ritz Carlton Hotel premises.

The main participants of the 42nd session of the World Heritage Committee are the 21 members of the Committee. i.e. Angola, Australia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Brazil, Burkina Faso, China, Cuba, Guatemala, Hungary, Indonesia, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Norway, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Spain, Tunisia, Uganda, United Republic of Tanzania, Zimbabwe.

Representatives of the International Centre for the Study of the Preservation and Restoration of Cultural Property (ICCROM), the International Council on Monuments and Sites (ICOMOS), and the International Union for Conservation of Nature (IUCN) also attended the sessions of the Committee in an advisory capacity. 

The essential functions of the Committee are:
  • To identify, on the basis of nominations submitted by States Parties, cultural and natural properties of Outstanding Universal Value which are to be protected under the Convention, and to inscribe those properties on the World Heritage List;
  • To monitor the state of conservation of properties inscribed on the World Heritage List, in liaison with States Parties; decide which properties included in the World Heritage List are to be inscribed on or removed from the List of World Heritage in Danger; decide whether a property may be deleted from the World Heritage List;
  • To examine requests for International Assistance financed by the World Heritage Fund.
The conference was attended by H.E Hon. Dr. Richard Nduhuura, Ambassador to UNESCO, and Ms. Dora Kutesa, Minister Counselor.